Week 11: Twitter

This week we did not have class because we will be spending a lot of time outside of class watching webinars hosted by my classmates. Instead, we met with our groups to prepare for out webinars and were asked to join twitter and start following librarians and information professionals that share our interests. I started by following the bloggers on twitter that I wrote about in week 5. After that we were asked to follow 25 more people who share our same professional interests. It took me a lot longer than I expected to find 25 more users to follow and was a little harder than I expected. This also increased the number of people that I followed pretty dramatically. However, once I did that, I was pleasantly surprised to find a lot of interesting tweets that were related to things we’ve been discussing in class all semester, in addition to some delightfully humorous tweets.

I started following public librarians and school and media librarians. I was a little surprised at how quickly I saw my twitter feed transform from random posts by friends, celebrities, or recent news updates into a much more intriguing discussion regarding literacy, open access, undeserved populations, etc. I was also a little surprised by the response I received from those I recently started following. A few individuals followed me back after I re tweeted something they posted and one twitter user thanked me for following her. Though I am happy that I have begun to transform my social media presence into something a little more professional, it will give me reason to be a little more thoughtful of my posts and use of hash tags.

This weeks twitter assignment has also given me the opportunity to reflect on what I’ve learned this semester and how it has changed my perception of the profession. Though this class hasn’t caused me to have a major change in what kind of library I want to work in or what kind of librarian I want to be, it has given me a bigger and more detailed picture of what it means to be a librarian or information professional. It has also given me an online network and community to follow to help me process my thoughts and ideas into something tangible and productive.

4 comments
  1. Grace A. said:

    This also increased the number of people I now follow on Twitter! Unfortunately, I now find my feed a little distracting. I would rather have some sort of filing system where one only reads things from specific people or groups, rather than have everyone on one main feed. It takes away from my enjoyment of both the celebrity gossip and the interesting librarianship discussions to have them on top of the other.
    I agree with you about getting a better picture of the profession. It’s making me appreciate how much we have to learn from one another, even if we are going to work in different kinds of libraries. It’s good to know that there is that kind of creative network online and from the classroom. The school of information is helping us make a nice safety net for us to fall back on.

  2. It is interesting how quickly your newsfeed gets transformed when following professionals on twitter. I really like it because of the way it allows me to collect news on such a diverse range of topics all in one place. I think you’re comment about being careful about what you tweet is interesting because I have been discussing this with a few friends lately. Some people have two accounts on “personal” and one “professional,” but I personally really don’t like that approach. I actually kind of like the way that twitter makes the professional more personal. On more than one occasion I’ve had a twitter conversation with someone I would never have contacted over email, but somehow on twitter people seem more likely to respond and engage. Perhaps this is because the word limit makes engagement easy and commitment free, but even so it’s kinda neat.

  3. I’m still finding myself continuing to tweak who I follow on Twitter, even after a couple weeks. The balance between following personal interests (and friends) and following library professionals is tricky, and I’m still not entirely happy with how messy my feed looks and feels. Still, it’s pretty cool that you got some responses back! I had a couple librarians follow me immediately after I started following them, but I didn’t get any messages directed at me.

  4. Amy S. said:

    I hear you about being more thoughtful about what you post. Although I don’t usually post to Twitter (on my personal account, at least), I do notice that on Facebook I’ve greatly curtailed the number of posts as my network expands. Sometimes it’s hard to fathom all the people who might see your posts and foresee every interpretation by every person who matters to you. Without succumbing to complete paranoia, it’s probably best to be conservative about your posts.

Leave a Reply

