Week 10: Discussion

In class this week we discussed how to make a good webinar  the technical side of performing a webinar, the details of our upcoming assignment, and embedded librarianship. I’m not sure if it was because of April fools day, a full moon, or Kristin teaching through example, but class started off with a few technical difficulties in regards to the webinar software we will be using. Though I don’t think that Kristin planned it this way, it gave us a good preview of unexpected difficulties we could face during our webinars. For this reason, the webinar assignment makes me a little more nervous than the screencasts, book club, and workshop assignments we’ve already done. I’m grateful that we will be doing these webinars in groups because it seems like there will be a lot to juggle during our 3 minute workshop. For this reason, I’m glad that I have the opportunity to watch the webinars of my classmates so I can learn more tricks of how to make a great webinar.

In class we also discussed embedded librarians. I was surprised that I didn’t think about our own embedded librarian at SI before I came into class. Interestingly, we all realized that not many of us take advantage of the our own embedded librarian, especially since we all generally felt that they can be very helpful. Personally, I work during our Shevon’s office hours and don’t have any assignments that I feel I need help with that warrant missing work. However, I was surprised to find that most of do not take advantage of her office hours. It is, at the very least, ironic that as librarians do not support our own embedded librarian. But why not? A few answers to this question bounced around, including that we do not have research assignments that we need in depth help with, we work or class which prevent us from stopping in, we feel like we can answer our own questions, etc. I think there are a variety of reasons as to why we as a whole do not take advantage of our own embedded librarian. I hope that this question can be put to use in the future in order to connect my services as a librarian to the patrons I serve.

2 comments
  1. Amy S. said:

    I agree the webinars seem like the most difficult instruction situation. Fortunately, I doubt technical problems will affect our grade, as long as they aren’t because we didn’t prepare. I think you’re right that having more people will make it easier to teach. The screencast was hard enough for me, keeping track of the visual component while I read my script. I can’t imagine having to monitor the chatroom as well!

  2. I think being in library school has made me so much more appreciative and aware of the services librarians offer. I can’t believe I didn’t take advantage of them every time I had a paper in undergrad! A big part of that is probably just myself–I’m more confident now and have no problem approaching the reference desk, and I also just know a lot more about what to expect from a reference interview.

Leave a Reply

